Me, a leader?!

Trapped within every follower is a hidden leader.
Myles Munroe.

To say that there was ever a time when I thought of or imagined myself as a leader would be a rather embarrassing lie. I have never pictured myself leading in any way. Even for fun. I have a wild imagination, yet this one seemed too difficult to imagine.

pic

The first book I’ve read on leadership this month

To me charisma, being an extrovert and assertiveness were THE ONLY attributes of a leader.  In my mind, a leader was one who was in control, rallying people, aggressive and ‘full of life’. Therefore, being a soft spoken, passive introvert myself, I was convinced leadership was not made for me. I was not built for it. I had even concluded that most of the people were born followers, while the lucky few were born leaders. I placed myself in the former set of people. Funny to think, I was comfortable being a follower. (NOT ANYMORE!)

All humans posses the potential to lead, but most have lost the passion of leadership. Myles Munroe

This statement from Myles Munroes’ ‘Spirit of Leadership’ book brought a question to my mind. If we ALL lead, who will follow? I was relieved when he pointed out that many people had asked him this question during his workshops and conferences, and I was excited that he cleared this confusion as I read on. He cited the story of creation in Genesis chapter 1.

26 Then God said, “Let Us (Father, Son, Holy Spirit) make man in Our image, according to Our likeness [not physical, but a spiritual personality and moral likeness]; and let them have complete authority over the fish of the sea, the birds of the air, the cattle, and over the entire earth, and over everything that creeps and crawls on the earth.” 

This verse is so deep. Contained in this one verse is the PLAN of God, man’s ORIGIN and PURPOSE. Being made in His likeness is much deeper than we care to uncover and conform to. We are made like Him. What He is, we represent and reflect it. We are His image. There is so much about God that we haven’t yet discovered. That’s why the closer we get to God, the closer we get to our true nature. The more we know Him, the more we know about ourselves.

Our dominion is over the environment ( fish, birds, cattle and all the earth) NOT OVER EACH OTHER. We are made to have authority over things that He made. To tend, take care of, guard, keep, protect the environment. Our leadership is in serving; not in the number of people that serve us but rather the number of people that we serve. It’s not in controlling, manipulating or pushing people but it’s in inspiring others by how we serve. It’s not in talking loudly and aggressively but in making an impact and serving people’s needs. Leadership is not in the title, it’s in the deeds.

So I don’t need to attend a class in leadership to be a leader. I don’t need a position or title to be a leader. Am already a leader. I was CREATED a leader. I have the leadership spirit (ingrained nature), I just need to cultivate the spirit of leadership (attitude of a leader).

In my previous post I said books on leadership will challenge me to ‘lead’ this month, well I wasn’t wrong!

HOW I WILL APPLY THIS TRUTH:

  • Work on how I think about myself. Review the image I have of myself and weigh it against what the Word of God in Genesis 1:26 says.
  1. Memorize and meditate on Genesis 1:26.
  2. Write words about my nature as a leader, to confess everyday until my mind begins to see it.
  3. Visualize myself as a leader.

 

Am a leader, it’s about time I started acting like it!

 

Leave a Reply

